Depression can make you sick

Fun fact: Depression and Anxiety can make you physically sick.

Ok maybe not them exactly, but the stress put on by them can make you physically sick.

How did I find out? The hard way of course!

I went to the A&E (aka the Emergency Room) about 2 weeks ago because I had a panic attack where my memory was spotty and it left me feeling physically ill. Because I was scared that I had a seizure and I wasn’t feeling well the next day, I walked my butt over to the A&E. After waiting about 4 hours, they saw me and told me that no, I had not had a seizure, but were concerned about my depression and my history of suicidal thoughts. So I waited another hour and they brought a psychologist to see me.

The psychologist was wonderful. He asked me questions that I hadn’t been asked before about my suicidal tendencies and my depression that cleared up a lot of things for me. At the end of the hour, I asked him, “So why do I feel sick?”

He told me that since my vital signs and everything else about me physically was perfect. The reason I felt ill was because my body was under so much stress from my panic attacks and general mental illness. He asked me how much I had been sleeping (plenty) and if I saw a therapist in London (LOL TRIED THAT) and when was the last time I felt suicidal (fairly recently). Summed up, he said “Well all that makes a lot of sense why you’re feeling like shit. You’re in a stressful environment with stressful situations, a very long distance relationship, and you have pretty bad mental illness to top it all off. No wonder you feel ill! I recommend taking the weekend off and sleeping a lot and drinking some tea and treat yourself to a nice veggie burger .” (he didn’t say that last part but doesn’t mean I didn’t…).

So thats what I did and I felt much better by the next morning. Maybe it was because I finally got to talk about my issues during the program to a professional who actually listened and helped me that made me feel better. Maybe it was because my body and mind was relieved that I’m not epileptic nor do I have any other physical things wrong with me. Who knows. But now I know.

I now you do too! If you are wondering what my symptoms were: nausea, blurry vision, lack of appetite, disoriented, cloudy headed. If you recently had a panic attack and are feeling these symptoms, you’re body may just be under stress. Take the weekend off, sleep, have some tea, and treat yourself to a nice veggie burger.

Have any of you guys had this problem? Leave a comment below.

Have a day filled with kittens, Okay?

Zoey K.

 

2 comments

  1. Sarah Reddin · March 21, 2016

    Warm tea is my vice. Sending positive vibes your way!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lira · March 21, 2016

    Apart from the obvious bad effects of the meds I take for anxiety and major depression, I’ve had a lot of pain in my chest — just like a panick attack, even though I wasn’t panicky at all.
    I went to the doctor, and got my heart checked, but it’s just the mix of anxiety and depression trying to literally break my heart, I guess.

    Have a day filled with kittens you too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

