I too, am a Winged Victory

So if you follow me on twitter  or instagram, you would know that I got myself a new tattoo.

 Thats it right over there. If you don’t know what it is, its the Winged Victory of Samothrace (or Nike of Samothrace) from the Hellenistic Grecian period.

Why did I get a statue on my forearm?

Well, its for a couple of reasons. One, I fucking love tattoos and I can’t not pass up the opportunity of getting a tattoo. Two, I wanted to get a tattoo from London so that I would never forget what I’ve learned here not only as a student, but how I’ve grown as a person during these 4 months. Three, if we’re going to be honest (I mean its my blog, when I am I not brutally honest about this shit) I really needed something to cover up the new scars I’ve made on my arms.

The Winged Victory to me symbolizes how much shit I’ve gone through mentally on this trip, but I am victorious over it. I wanted to leave London and go back to California so many times during this program because my mental illnesses were getting to the point where they were interfering with my everyday life to an extreme. I have gotten to ridiculously dark places on this trip that I thought I would never see again. I considered suicide and I self-harmed myself.

But you know what?

This tattoo shows that I did it. I went through all of this shit and I emerged victorious. I may have gotten a few hits (like my head and arms) but my wings are still spread in victory and for that I am a survivor. This tattoo is going to serve as a reminder that I can truly do it. That I have gotten to a dark recess of my mind and life and when I thought I couldn’t do it, I was victorious. It reflects my continue tattoo on my other forearm perfectly. I put my fists up and I have these two reminders of how strong I can be.

And you know what else? If you’ve been through similar shit as I have and you’ve gotten to a dark place but emerged victorious, you too are a winged victory. Even if it was being able to get out of bed for 5 days straight, you are a winged victory. We all can be winged victories.

SO FUCK YOU DEPRESSION AND ANXIETY I AM THE WINGED VICTORY OF ZOEYTOWN

Yeah, bitch. 


 

And another thing I can’t help but mention. I was exposed this past week to an amazing community via twitter, known as the Bloggess Tribe. The Bloggess has this amazing community of people who always help her our through panic attacks and her mental illnesses and she decided that it would be pretty rad if we all actually talked to each other, so she opened a forum for all of us to talk to each other. It has been an amazing experience seeing that I’m not alone and how strangers can help each other out in this kind of forum. So thank you Bloggess Tribe. Ya’ll are pretty damn dope.

Have a day filled with kittens, Okay?

Zoey K.

Leave a Reply

